Meet Our 2013 Team: Ryah

ImageMeet Ryah

Age: 18

Occupation: Student

Things I Enjoy Doing: I love to hang out with my friends and spending time with them. When I am not out and about I like to do little DIY crafts and make things!

Things I Enjoy Eating: I pretty much eat like a five year old, so as you can imagine my favorite food is chicken strips!

First Trip to the Navajo Reservation: First went in 2011

Funny Rez Trip Memory: This last summer when we were on the Rez, for reasons beyond me, everyone started singing me happy birthday at dinner (It wasn’t my birthday at all on the trip) and from then on “Happy Birthday” would spontaneously be sung to me throughout the rest of the camp!

My Testimony: I was raised up in a non-Christian home. My dad worked a lot so that caused us to move quite a bit in my early years. My mom tried her best to raise us, but with four kids things got a little hectic at times. I was finally moved to Oklahoma for good in kindergarten, and it was from then to about 5th grade that I lived my life very secluded and filled with so much insecurity. In 5th grade I met Sam and Lyndie who invited me to a Kids for Christ meeting and from then to my current church, Saturday Night (Jesus Revolution). It took awhile for me, but God began to reveal himself to me and gave me a complete 180-degree shift in my life, I mean my personality was just transformed! Ever since then God has just been revealing himself to me in new ways and still constantly transforming me and making me into his image!

Something the Lord Taught Me on the Rez: When I think back on what the Lord did in me on my trips to the reservation, there is one thing that sticks out above all else. Last summer, I had been spending a lot of time leading up to the trip asking God to give me a compassion for the Navajo and for me to actually feel what he felt for them (I didn’t quite know what I was asking for!) I believe it was the last night service and in the middle of worship it felt like God had given me a heart transplant and put in his heart in my body. My heart broke and all I could do was cry for what felt was hours, I honestly don’t think I have felt this much pain, but it was a holy pain. I ended up going up to the stage and was able to share a bit what I was feeling to everyone and attempting to put words to what God was allowing me to experience. God really let me feel how he felt and how he loves the Navajo so much and he DESIRES them to know him, like really know him, where he is their Father and they are his children.

My Hopes and Expectations for this Upcoming Trip: I feel like this year God has been giving me so many revelations into scripture and his Word. So, my hopes for this trip is for God to give me a boldness and the ability to walk in a spirit of discipleship, to not be intimidated, but speak what he has already spoken to me.

Leave a Reply

