Meet Our 2013 Team: Alicia

ImageAge: 20

Occupation: Student, Nursing Major

Nickname: I have two, Ali (which is what I prefer) and Allavisha. That was the name given to me on the way to the Rez last year.

Things I Enjoy Eating: Well, I obviously love frybread. But I also love pasta, seafood, a nice juicy steak, chocolate pie, cookies, ice cream… It’s probably easier to say what I don’t like. I don’t like nuts or squid. Anything else: ME GUSTA.

Things I Enjoy Doing: I love to be around music. Rather it’s attending a concert, or performing a concert, I love it. I enjoy read the Bible, spending time with friends, cooking and more so eating

Strange Fact About Me: I love shopping – and shoes. I also have an obsession with painting my finger nails.

First Trip to the Navajo Reservation: This will be my second time to the Rez. My first trip was in 2012. 

Funny Rez Trip Memory: I think the nights during camp, right before bed check. It was funny to see the different personalities. Girls and there girl talking, girls who just crashed and the leaders who forced themselves to stay awake for bed check and became silly as all get out.

My Testimony: I grew up in a Christian home. When I was a little girl I would have conversations with the Lord. (I would tell him to “hang on I’ll be right back” when our convos got interrupted.) Some stuff happened though and I fell away from him. My junior year of high school I met some good Christian girls. They convinced me to go to church with them. I went a couple times. It was there that I gave my life to the Lord, and I’m free. He freed me from some bad relationships, He freed me from tobacco, and he freed me from all the chains that held me down.

Something the Lord Taught Me on the Reservation: The Lord taught me so much on the Reservation. I think the most important is probably that the sweetest and most awesome miracle is when He changes a person’s heart. I had that knowledge, “In the same way, I tell you, there is rejoicing in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.” (Luke 15:10), but he revealed it to me in a special way in my heart. It was like I could feel the angles rejoicing. That was a huge revelation in my heart.

Hopes for the Upcoming Trip: I just want to see hearts changed. The Lord loves us so much and He just wants us to dwell daily with him. I know how happy he is when someone dedicates their life to him. I know how happy we are when we are with him. I want to see this happiness begin in the lives of these young people. I also want to plant seed of wisdom. Once they leave camp, it is going to be hard for them to maintain a life for the Lord. I want the Lord to give us word of wisdom and encouragement to help them. So that they can grow and grow and grow!!

Leave a Reply

